365.karla – July 2019

One statement – CHINESE DRAMAS. I fell into this really deep hole of Chinese dramas. Actually, just two – Unrequited Love & Meteor Garden 2018.

Unrequited Love starts off kind of weird because it’s whole plot is about stalking, cheating, obsessing over relationships, and love. But once you get past that it’s actually put me in my feels pretty hard. I thoroughly enjoyed the actors and thought the main leading man was beautiful, haha.

MG2018 – OH BOY OH BOY. I know it’s part of a cult following and part of a bigger universe with Boys Over Flowers and the original Meteor Garden being so so loved by many. I never was on the kdrama/asian drama boat when every one was with the exception of Filipino Dramas so watching MG2018, I had a very unbiased expectation. To sum it all up, I LOVED IT. I loved the love triangle and the boys who played them (especially Dylan Wang – I’ve watched every youtube video containing him, I swear) and just everything about the show captivated me in such an obsessive way.

Once I like something, I go all in and obsess over it. Unfortunately, my fan girl energy was spent into MG2018 and I just cannot find another drama that I enjoy just as much or more.

Other moments throughout this month include:

Releasing a collaboration post on TheMindUp! So head over to check out our Style Profile with our friend Adrian!

I went kayaking for the first time with two of my friends. We’re very city people and it was almost a recipe for disaster when our boat got stuck on some rocks. I’m afraid of water, birds, and I cannot swim – so it was freaking out. It ended up being more fun and will be a good story to tell people.

The Age of Adaline was such a beautifully done movie. I was quite surprised with how much I enjoyed it and how much it made me kilig to the bones. I can’t find an english word to describe kilig, so just google it, haha.

Watched and helped out with the old folk dancing group I used to perform for. I think it’s awesome they put the gang (minus some) back together to perform for Fringe Festival. I was lowkey so jealous, but truthfully I’m not as small and talented as I once was a couple years ago… yikes.

Anyways, July’s been a great month overall and it’s starting to look like the second half of 2019 is looking optimistic. I’m glad the turn around happened.

See ya’ for my August round up!

-Karla R.

Leave a comment