365.karla – August 2019 (Birthday Month!)

Holy. Cow. Where has the time gone? My New Year’s resolution of making two blog posts a month has failed because from August till almost the end of October, it’s been B U S Y. Adjusting with the back to school routine, maintaining a social life, working, and just trying to take time for me. It’s been a lot.

Anways, August was great. I really wanted to end summer with a bang (or relaxed at least) before I went back to nursing school. It was always my birthday month so it was extra special.

Highlights:

BIRTHDAY MONTH:

I turned 22 this year and spent my actual birthday with my old dance group! They were celebrating their super successful run at the Fringe Festival this year at Activate and asked me to join in even though I only volunteered twice, haha. It was nice just being with people I consider my second family, especially when majority of my birthdays up to this point were spent with them in the past.

MY FRIENDS THREW ME A SURPRISE PARTY TOO. I obviously am a crier and it was pretty embarrassing to have cried at a pub. I never really do anything for my birthday in terms of trying to get all my friends from my different friend groups together. It’s just not me, or something that I wanna plan for myself. I was thinking I should do something, but due to some circumstances it just didn’t fall through. Voicing it to my friends, it was so sweet of them to put this together. I’m extremely spoiled but/ I’m so thankful for all of them. <y friends literally mean EVERYTHING to me.

EYE DOCTOR:

Finally made a visit to my eye doctor because my eyes were becoming extremely dry that they wouldn’t stop watering? If you understand the human body, you’ll know that when something is out of norms, your body will try to compensate. So due to my dry eyes, they were over producing water and tears to make up for it. It was so annoying when I was wearing makeup that I just stopped and just had a box of tissue in my bag at all times. I had a new eye doctor this time, and wow he was great! I really love new grads and how enthusiastic they can be when it becomes to their scope. It’s so admirable to see it in a young professional because it’s something I strive to be.

Conclusion

August for the most part was great except I had a little hiccup at the end with a weird personal encounter that happened. It’s hard to not get stuck and beat yourself up or put blame on other people when things don’t go right. But maintaining optimism when understanding that life isn’t always going to go your way, it just leaves room for personal growth.

I definitely had a lot of fun with August and I can’t wait to talk about September!

Leave a comment